A Beautiful Way of Understanding the 7 Chakras — From a Child’s Perspective

No doubt you’ve heard about the chakras in some form or another, and perhaps have been a bit puzzled about exactly what they are and how they function and affect our lives. Perhaps you thought that chakras had something to do with an ancient eastern religion, or were some sort of a yoga woo-woo, sit-in-a-lotus position kind of a thing that was too difficult and weird to grasp.

If so, don’t worry — you’re not alone. Tainted by cultural ideologies, chakras have been thought of as religious ideas or symbols and thus their true, basic importance has been missed by many. So let’s get beyond those old ideas spawned by myth and tradition and, with open minds, find out why understanding the chakras can be vitally important to one’s overall health and well-being.

The Unseen Beauty of the Chakras

Human beings are so preoccupied with their outward physical appearance they forget that there’s a vast universe of energy and magic going on inside of them that gives them life. Much like air and electrical energy, the fact that we can’t see our chakras doesn’t mean they’re not there. It’s now scientifically proven that we are all entirely made up of energy, and that our physical forms are just a reflection of the unseen fields of life-energy that flow within us.

We’ve discovered a wonderful video that takes you inside your amazing body where your beautiful, life-driving energy resides. It explains from a child’s point of view exactly what the 7 chakras are, how they impact your life, and how to clear any blockages in them. But before we get to that, here is a quick primer about the chakras.

The chakras are swirling pools of energy that exist in our bodies. Because emotional blockages can occur that interfere with the chakras’ natural function, knowing how to clear and balance them can improve one’s overall health and quality of life. Following is a brief explanation of how each chakra (starting from the bottom — root chakra — of your body upward towards your head) is related to your physical, emotional and spiritual life.

The 7 Chakras

root1. Root Chakra

Represents being grounded in physical life.
Location: Base of the spine/tailbone area.
Emotional issues: Survival issues around money, safety, shelter, food, feeling grounded.


2. Sacral Chakra

Represents creativity, emotions, connection to others, and ability to accept life.
Location: Lower abdomen, two inches below the navel.
Emotional issues: Guilt, sexuality, pleasure, feelings of abundance and well-being.


3. Solar Plexus Chakra

Represents confidence, will, and power.
Location: Stomach area/upper abdomen.
Emotional issues: Shame, self-worth, self-confidence, willpower.

4. Heart Chakra

Represents our ability to love.
Location: Center of the chest/heart area.
Emotional issues: Grief, love, joy, inner peace.


5. Throat Chakra

Represents communication and speaking truth.
Location: Throat area.
Emotional issues: Lying to ourselves and others, communication, self-expression, truth.


6. Third Eye Chakra

Represents our ability to see the larger picture and higher dimensions.
Location: Forehead area, just above and between the eyes.
Emotional issues: Seeing through illusion, intuition, imagination, wisdom, decision-making thought.


7. Crown Chakra

Represents spirituality and ability to connect to our higher self.
Location: Top of the head.
Emotional issues: Letting go of attachment, spiritual connection, beauty, bliss.

Now here is that wonderful video that explains the 7 chakras and how to clear them in a beautiful, simple way that a child could understand (and spares us the usual mumbo-jumbo that often over-complicates concepts). We love this and know you will too!

7 Chakra image copyright: agsandrew/depositphotos.com
Featured article image copyright: Healing63/depositphotos.com